Make your own free website on Tripod.com
The Wine Cellar

Outside the kitchen and just off the hall is a narrow stairs, a shortcut descending to join the wine cellar's magnificent cut stone steps. These originally led through massive wooden doors to the outdoors. The vaulted stone wine cellar, dressed-stone entry and floor are marvels of engineering. Stone for the floor was cut at the nearby Harmonist quarry, and fitted on flat ground, with each piece numbered to match the next. Transported to the wine cellar, the giant puzzle was reassembled. To build the arching ceiling, we are told, cut stone was laid up over a wooden rack and cemented into place. After the vital keystones were set, the rack was disassembled and removed. Wine was made outdoors and then stored in the wine cellar's consistent 50-65 degree temperature. Ascending to the museum hallway again, one views a likeness of Father Rapp. There is also a copy of the original deed to Harmonie written on sheepskin. Harmonie and its environs were sold in 1815 to Abraham Ziegler, a Mennonite blacksmith from eastern Pennsylvania.

Continue Tour

Home

Points of Interest

Hall Rental

Membership

Calendar

Directions

Links

Contact Us